Delhi Capitals Lead Indian Premier League Team Standings After Win Over Mumbai Indians


Sensational Rishabh Pant fires Delhi Capitals to emphatic win

The Kings XI Punjab for the first time in five years has won the game at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium in Jaipur against the Rajasthan Royals. The team won the game against Rajasthan Royals by 14 runs and they have occupied the number two spot at the IPL 2019 Points Table with two points. The Chennai Super Kings now stands on number three, KKR occupies number four spot.


Delhi Capitals 213 for 6 (Pant 78*, Ingram 47, Dhawan 43, McClenaghan 3-40) beat Mumbai Indians 176 (Yuvraj 53, Krunal 32, Rabada 2-23, Ishant 2-34) by 37 runs

The India auditions are done, but Rishabh Pant refuses to go away from the spotlight. He blasted 78 not out off 27 balls, the joint third-fastest IPL half-century, to set the tournament alight for Delhi Capitals. Also crucial for Delhi was Colin Ingram’s 43 that gave the innings momentum in the first place after the top order sputtered. This meant, Shreyas Iyer celebrated an away win at his home ground as Delhi defended their mammoth 213 for 6 in style. Mumbai Indians, meanwhile, haven’t won a season-opening game since 2012. They will now travel to Bengaluru with not just questions to address, but also concerns over Jasprit Bumrah’s shoulder. The IPL 2019 is based on a double round-robin format, which means a team will play 14 matches in the first round on home and away basis. For each IPL team, there will be seven away and as many home games. After the completion of the league stage, top four teams on the IPL 2019 points table will advance to playoffs. After the Qualifiers and Eliminator, two teams will contest the final of IPL 2019.

Just like previous seasons. two points will be awarded to the winner of a match. If there is a tie match, the team which wins the Super Over will claim the two valuable points. If there is no result then the two teams will share a point each. At the end of the round-robin stage, if teams are tied on points then the side with better run-rate will qualify for playoffs. Chennai Super Kings are the defending champions. CSK along with Mumbai Indians have won three titles each, most in IPL’s history. Last season, Super Kings, Sunrisers, Knight Riders and Royal qualified for last four. CSK eventually won the tournament by defeating SRH in the final.

Pant’s pyrotechnics

Virat Kohli has emphatically stated that theIPL wouldn’t impact World Cup selection, but Pant could give the team management its biggest headache yet. He was held back but it didn’t cost Delhi. He whipped, swept, flicked, pulled and danced his way to sixes, peppering the second tiers of different parts of the ground, although the arc between deep square-leg and long-leg was his favourite. His first five deliveries yielded just one run, but the next 10 brought him 40. He’d hit five fours and three sixes in the interim; like Ingram, Pant too took a liking for Hardik, hitting him for two sixes and a four in the 16th to rev up. The decision to test him with short balls, particularly, fell flat. Short on middle: pulled, short outside off: slapped over long-off. Short further away: fetched and swatted over deep midwicket. This was Pant unleashed. Delhi smashed 99 off the last six overs.