Four former J&K CMs to lose SSG cover | India News

SRINAGAR: The administration of Jammu & Kashmir has ordered withdrawal of special security group (SSG) cover to four former chief ministers and 15 of their immediate family members.
The four former chief ministers are Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah, Mehbooba Mufti and Ghulam Nabi Azad.
“A decision to this effect was taken in the security review coordination committee (SRCC) meetings held on July 18, 2021 and September 19, 2021,” official sources said.
According to sources, only sitting chief ministers of Jammu & Kashmir are entitled to have SSG cover after the Union home ministry amended The Jammu and Kashmir Special Security Group Act-2000 on March 31, 2020.
A letter from J&K home department to ADGP security on December 31, 2021 said that the competent authority has also approved the proposal “right-size” the SSG.
The ADGP has been directed to reduce the posted strength of SSG…

Source link