India bars travellers from UK, EU, Turkey from March 18

NEW DELHI: India has temporarily barred entry of travellers from United Kingdom, European Union, Turkey and European Free Trade Association from Wednesday (March 18). In addition, those either coming from or transiting through UAE, Qatar, Oman, and Kuwait will need to be quarantined for at least two weeks. Both these additional measures are temporary and will be in force till March 31, when it will be reviewed, in a bid to contain the spread of coronavirus.
Following a decision by the health ministry on Monday, the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) issued a circular to airlines saying: “Expanding compulsory quarantine for a minimum period of 14 days for passengers coming from/transiting through UAE, Qatar, Oman, and Kuwait. This will come into effect from 1200 GMT (5.30 pm) on Wednesday (March 18) at the port of first departure.”
Coronavirus outbreak; Complete coverage
“Travel of passengers from member countries of the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, Turkey and United Kingdom to India is prohibited with effect from Wednesday (March 18). No airline shall board a passenger from these nations to India with effect from 1200 GMT Wednesday (5.30 pm IST). The airline shall enforce this at the port of initial departure,” the circular says.
“Both these instructions are temporary measures and shall be in force till March 31, 2020, and will be reviewed subsequently. All scheduled Indian and foreign airlines engaged in international air transportation to/from India, therefore, are directed to scrupulously follow the above advisory and not to carry any passenger in violation thereof,” it adds.
Coronavirus outbreak: Latest updates
India has from last Friday suspended most existing visas till April 15, 2020. Visa free travel facility granted to overseas citizens of India (OCI) card holders has also been kept in abeyance till April 15, 2020.

Source link