Panel to select CBI chief zeroes in on 3 names | India News


PM Narendra Modi (File photo)

NEW DELHI: The high-powered committee, comprising PM Narendra Modi, CJI N V Ramana and Congress leader in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, to select the CBI director shortlisted three IPS officers — V S K Kaumudi, Subodh Jaiswal and Kumar Rajesh Chandra — for the top post. One of the shortlisted candidates is likely to become the CBI director, a post that has been lying vacant for over four months.
At the meeting, the CJI is learnt to have suggested that three names could be picked from the senior most in the panel and the PM said, “We will go as per the rule.” Chowdhury is learnt to have submitted a note of dissent, alleging violation of laid down procedures. He didn’t object to the names though.
On May 11, Chowdhury received a list of 109 IPS officers across four batches from which the committee was to select one, according to sources. However, around 1pm, the government, through the department of personnel and training, sent a list of 10 names. Four hours later, six more names were added to the list.
Chowdhury is learnt to have raised objection to the manner in which the list of names was trimmed, saying the DoPT had no role in the shortlisting. He is learnt to have urged the panel to reschedule the discussion, sources said, adding Chowdhury said only officers with at least six months of service left should be picked.


Source link