Uttar Pradesh elections 2022: BJP hit by resignations; SP welcomes rebels | India News

NEW DELHI: The announcement of poll schedule for Uttar Pradesh assembly elections seems to have triggered a churning in state politics.
As the state braces for a 7-phase polls starting from Februrary 10, all the key parties are witnessing turmoils within their ranks, and could well see a few defections to rival camps.
The ruling BJP, which is on a strong wicket and is going all out to retain power in the state and script history, has been rattled by a series of resignations – two ministers and 4 MLAs to be exact.
The rebellion in the BJP was led by Swami Prasad Maurya, a heavyweight OBC leader who had joined the saffron party after quitting BSP ahead of the 2017 assembly elections.
A day after Maurya’s exit, another minister Dara Singh Chauhan announced his decision to quit the Yogi Adityanath ministry.
Chauhan represents Madhuban assembly constituency in Mau district.
If Swami…

Source link